Awards Archive

Previously Recognized Award Winners

Each year AzCEC and AzCASE accepts nominations for outstanding individuals, grants and scholarships. Individuals who are chosen by the awards committee will be recognized at our Annual State Conference. In addition to professionals, we also honor students who demonstrate an "I Can Do It" attitude. 

AzCEC "I Can Do It" Award

2018 Sunni Clark, Mesa Public Schools; Emanuel Flores, Somerton Elementary School District; Rafael Rojas, Chandler Unified School District; Taji Sneed, Laveen Elementary School District
2017 Paulina Arrowsmith, Marana Unified School District; Dabria Cameron, Phoenix Elementary School District; Jacob Cunningham, The Children's Center for Neurodevelopmental Studies; Vincent Keene, Isaac Elementary School District; Gracie Mae Mark, Sacaton Elementary School District; Easton Payne, Combs Unified School District; Phoenix Salazar, Phoenix Elementary School District; Luis H. Reyes-Serna, Laveen Elementary School District

2016 Jessica Gardner, Florence USD; Juliana Garcia, Laveen ESD; Carlos Gasper, Laveen ESD; Chance Giannini, Florence USD; Marilin Huinac Luna, Alhambra ESD; Bryan Rodriquez, Tucson USD; Jenelle Sanchez, Liberty, ESD

2015 Reagan Arbelbide, Chandler USD; Tyler Ashcroft, Casa Grande ESD; Josselyne Gallegos, Union ESD; Briana Montano, Flowing Wells USD; Julissa Rivas, Union ESD; Killian Romani, Dysart USD

2014 Kierstyn James, Casa Grande HSD; Camila Lopez, Chandler USD; Sarah Van Wolde, Chandler Traditional Academy; David Sederstrom, Deer Valley USD; Josiah Davis, Laveen ESD; Anthony Garcia, Tucson USD; Regis Tonelete, Dysart USD 

2005 Tavian Banks, Kyrene ESD; Josue Bassette, Westwind Community School; Melissa Lynne Bock, Peoria USD; Thomas Clonts, Thacher USD; Jesse Tyler Cole, Vail USD; Craig Fernette,
Peoria USD; Brittany Garret, Peoria USD; Keijuan Harrison, Pendergast ESD; Albert Hernandez, Dysart USD; Leland Jones, Coolidge School District; C. Terry Kung, Amphitheater
School District; Lindsay Lopez, Vail USD; Brittany McCain, Snowflake USD; Rory Myers, Chandler USD; Natalie Nicosia, Kyrene ESD; Brianna Sassone, Vail USD; Michael J. Smith,
Dysart USD; Lazaro Trinidad, Flowing Wells School District; Bren Valisto, Maricopa USD, Adarius Walthall, Chandler USD; Kalynn Woodside, Snowflake USD

2006 Kathryn Gorrell - Vail USD

2004 Melissa Carnes, Amphitheater District; Veronica Castro, Amphitheater District; Samantha Declay, Whiteriver District; Gabriel Gutierrez, Avondale ESD; Daniel Howard, Pendergast ESD;
Tiffany Jones, Tucson USD; Jordan Parks, Tucson USD; Phillip Pizzi, Tucson USD; Rhyasin Roebuck, Tucson USD; Heather St.Pierre, Mesa Public School District; Jose Vengas, Tucson USD

AzCEC Distinguished Service to Exceptional Children

2018 Kent Rideout, The Children's Center for Neurodevelopmental Studies
2017 Colleen ReinboldtLaveen Elementary School District

2016 Udall Shumway PLC, Phoenix, AZ

2015 Emily Gaylord, Tucson USD

2014 Kim Caliendo, Karen ESD

2011 Margaret Pysh, University of Arizona 

2014 Kim Caliendo, Kyrene ESD

2004 Cyndi Bowlewski, ADE; Judy Crosswell, ADE; Ralph Giles, Tucson USD; Cathy Taylor, Tucson USD; Leila Williams, Tucson USD

2005 Senator John Huppenthal, Representative Linda Lopez, Edward Myers III; Linda Haller, Amphitheater School District: Key Advocates for the Arizona Textbook Accesibility Legislation Bill HB2352 that was signed into law on May 6, 2004


2018 Tracey Antista, Flowing Wells School District; Trish Geraghty, Mesa Public Schools
2004 Shelly Kilmer, Arizona Children’s Association; Polly Kimminau, Amphitheater District; Heidi Silver-Pacuilla, Pima Community College 

2005 Elizabeth Duncan, Roosevelt ESD; Roslyn Gangloff, Pendergast ESD

AzCEC Samuel Kirk Teacher of the Year Award

2018 Jessica Peacock, Chandler USD
2016 Jennifer Perry, Glendale UHSD 

2015 Tracey Antista, Flowing Wells USD

2014 Dale Gambrel, Arizona Comprehensive Center for Education and Life Skills 

2011 TaMarla Forrest, ABA Schools; Kandy Claus, Laveen ESD; Mark Rocks, Mesa Public Schools; Donna Youdelman, Flowing Wells USD 

2005 Maureen O'Laughlin, Tolleson ESD

AzCASE Laura Ganoung Award

2017 Diane Wray, Phoenix Elementary School District 

2014  Lorie Gerkey, Casa Grande UHSD

AzCASE Outstanding Leadership Award

2018 Senator Sylvia Allen, Arizona State Senate
2017 Steve Pries, Laveen Elementary School District

2016 Matt Owsley, Cave Creek USD

2015 Mike Maluski and Rene Blackford, Chandler USD

2014 Dana Holtz, Casa Grande UHSD

2011 Fred DePrez, District

AzCASE Scholarship Award

2016 Retina Bauschatz, University of Arizona 

2011 Jessica Winget, Laveen ESD